The keep with its two towers.
The main, and unique, gate of the town
Nozzano rises few kilometers outside the center
of the city of Lucca along the the road that from the S.Anna district
leads towards Viareggio.
The crenelated walls of the keep.
Crowning a rocks relief on the right bank of the river
Serchio, a few kilometers outside of the city of Lucca, rises still today
the fortified village of Nozzano, with its crenelated keep and towers
and town walls. The castle was one of the most powerful and famous stronghold
erected at defense of the the southwest borderlands between the territories
of Lucca and Pisa. On the opposite bank of the river can be seen the corresponding
fortification of the Pisane Republic: the Rocca
of Ripafratta with its watch towers.
The fortified complex, formed by a elliptic walled enclosure reinforced
with towers on the side toward the 'enemy' lands and with an unique gate
opened on the side turned to Lucca at defense of the small village, in
the middle rise the triangular shaped keep with high crenelated walls
and two towers, the quadrangular one higher and the second with the form
of a spur, like those of those on the town-walls. The core of the fortification
was erected in the course of 1200.
The village seen from the bank of the river
After the battle of Monteaperti (1260) Nozzano became
famous in order to have accommodated the Guelphs hunted from several Tuscan
cities. Many times attacked and destroyed by the Pisane army the castle
has been always reconstructed, the last time in the 1395 with the addiction
of a bastion beside the gate. Nozzano was used until the end of the 1500
in order to control the ships that sailed up the river Serchio to Lucca,
then its military and strategic importance ended and it became the seat
of one of the first printing offices of Italy. Today the fortified village
is in a good state of conservation, the keep, recently restored, can be
visited only from the outside.